Statement on Flag Day as Washington, DC Admission Act Reaches 213 Cosponsors

 Custom search →  Sign up / Sign in
Friday, June 14, 2019

(Washingon, DC) – Today, Mayor Muriel Bowser released the following statement on Flag Day as Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton’s DC statehood bill (H.R. 51) has reached 213 cosponsors. A simple majority in the U.S. House of Representatives is 218 votes.

“On Flag Day, we are particularly reminded of our fight to put the 51st star on the American flag with DC statehood. We thank Congresswoman Norton for her continued leadership in building historic support and putting us on the verge of assuring House passage as we prepare next month for the first House hearing on DC statehood in over 25 years.

“We know this fight is long from over, but we continue to see more Americans join our cause to confront one of great civil rights issues of our time.”

Below is a full list of House cosponsors of H.R. 51:

Rep. Adams, Alma S. (NC-12)
Aguilar, Pete (CA-31)
Allred, Colin Z. (TX-32)
Rep. Barragan, Nanette Diaz (CA-44)
Bass, Karen (CA-37)
Beatty, Joyce (OH-3)
Bera, Ami (CA-7)
Beyer, Donald S., Jr. (VA-8)
Rep. Bishop, Sanford D., Jr. (GA-2)
Blumenauer, Earl (OR-3)
Blunt Rochester, Lisa (DE-At Large)
Rep. Bonamici, Suzanne (OR-1)
Boyle, Brendan F. (PA-13)
Rep. Brown, Anthony G. (MD-4)
Brownley, Julia (CA-26)
Bustos, Cheri (IL-17)
Butterfield, G. K. (NC-1)
Carbajal, Salud O. (CA-24)
Cardenas, Tony (CA-29)
Carson, Andre (IN-7)
Cartwright, Matt (PA-17)
Rep. Case, Ed (HI-1)
Casten, Sean (IL-6)
Castor, Kathy (FL-14)
Castro, Joaquin (TX-20)
Chu, Judy (CA-27)
Cicilline, David N. (RI-1)
Clark, Katherine M. (MA-5)
Clarke, Yvette D. (NY-9)
Clay, Wm. Lacy (MO-1)
Cleaver, Emanuel (MO-5)
Clyburn, James E. (SC-6)
Cohen, Steve (TN-9)
Connolly, Gerald E. (VA-11)
Rep. Correa, J. Luis (CA-46)
Courtney, Joe (CT-2)
Rep. Cox, TJ (CA-21)
Crist, Charlie (FL-13)
Crow, Jason (CO-6)
Rep. Cuellar, Henry (TX-28)
Cummings, Elijah E. (MD-7)
Rep. Davids, Sharice (KS-3)
Rep. Davis, Danny K. (IL-7)
Davis, Susan A. (CA-53)
Dean, Madeleine (PA-4)
DeFazio, Peter A. (OR-4)
Rep. DeGette, Diana (CO-1)
DeLauro, Rosa L. (CT-3)
DelBene, Suzan K. (WA-1)
Delgado, Antonio (NY-19)
Demings, Val Butler (FL-10)
DeSaulnier, Mark (CA-11)
Deutch, Theodore E. (FL-22)
Dingell, Debbie (MI-12)
Doggett, Lloyd (TX-35)
Doyle, Michael F. (PA-14)
Engel, Eliot L. (NY-16)
Escobar, Veronica (TX-16)
Eshoo, Anna G. (CA-18)
Espaillat, Adriano (NY-13)
Evans, Dwight (PA-2)
Finkenauer, Abby (IA-1)
Foster, Bill (IL-11)
Frankel, Lois (FL-21)
Fudge, Marcia L. (OH-11)
Rep. Gabbard, Tulsi (HI-2)
Rep. Gallego, Ruben (AZ-7)
Garamendi, John (CA-3)
Garcia, Jesus G. (IL-4)
Garcia, Sylvia R. (TX-29)
Gomez, Jimmy (CA-34)
Gonzalez, Vicente (TX-15)
Green, Al (TX-9)
Grijalva, Raul M. (AZ-3)
Haaland, Debra A. (NM-1)
Hastings, Alcee L. (FL-20)
Hayes, Jahana (CT-5)
Heck, Denny (WA-10)
Rep. Higgins, Brian (NY-26)
Hill, Katie (CA-25)
Himes, James A. (CT-4)
Horsford, Steven (NV-4)
Houlahan, Chrissy (PA-6)
Hoyer, Steny H. (MD-5)
Rep. Huffman, Jared (CA-2)
Jackson Lee, Sheila (TX-18)
Jayapal, Pramila (WA-7)
Jeffries, Hakeem S. (NY-8)
Johnson, Eddie Bernice (TX-30)
Johnson, Henry C. "Hank," Jr. (GA-4)
Kaptur, Marcy (OH-9)
Keating, William R. (MA-9)
Kelly, Robin L. (IL-2)
Kennedy, Joseph P., III (MA-4)
Khanna, Ro (CA-17)
Kildee, Daniel T. (MI-5)
Kilmer, Derek (WA-6)
Kim, Andy (NJ-3)
Kirkpatrick, Ann (AZ-2)
Krishnamoorthi, Raja (IL-8)
Rep. Kuster, Ann M. (NH-2)
Langevin, James R. (RI-2)
Larsen, Rick (WA-2)
Larson, John B. (CT-1)
Lawrence, Brenda L. (MI-14)
Lawson, Al, Jr. (FL-5)
Lee, Barbara (CA-13)
Lee, Susie (NV-3)
Levin, Andy (MI-9)
Levin, Mike (CA-49)
Lewis, John (GA-5)
Lieu, Ted (CA-33)
Lipinski, Daniel (IL-3)
Loebsack, David (IA-2)
Lofgren, Zoe (CA-19)
Lowenthal, Alan S. (CA-47)
Lowey, Nita M. (NY-17)
Lujan, Ben Ray (NM-3)
Rep. Luria, Elaine G. (VA-2)
Lynch, Stephen F. (MA-8)
Malinowski, Tom (NJ-7)
Maloney, Carolyn B. (NY-12)
Maloney, Sean Patrick (NY-18)
Matsui, Doris O. (CA-6)
McBath, Lucy (GA-6)
McCollum, Betty (MN-4)
McEachin, A. Donald (VA-4)
McGovern, James P. (MA-2)
McNerney, Jerry (CA-9)
Meeks, Gregory W. (NY-5)
Meng, Grace (NY-6)
Moore, Gwen (WI-4)
Moulton, Seth (MA-6)
Mucarsel-Powell, Debbie (FL-26)
Murphy, Stephanie N. (FL-7)
Nadler, Jerrold (NY-10)
Napolitano, Grace F. (CA-32)
Neal, Richard E. (MA-1)
Neguse, Joe (CO-2)
Norcross, Donald (NJ-1)
Rep. Ocasio-Cortez, Alexandria (NY-14)
Omar, Ilhan (MN-5)
Pallone, Frank, Jr. (NJ-6)
Panetta, Jimmy (CA-20)
Pappas, Chris (NH-1)
Pascrell, Bill, Jr. (NJ-9)
Payne, Donald M., Jr. (NJ-10)
Perlmutter, Ed (CO-7)
Peters, Scott H. (CA-52)
Phillips, Dean (MN-3)
Rep. Pingree, Chellie (ME-1)
Plaskett, Stacey E. (VI-At Large)
Pocan, Mark (WI-2)
Porter, Katie (CA-45)
Pressley, Ayanna (MA-7)
Price, David E. (NC-4)
Quigley, Mike (IL-5)
Raskin, Jamie (MD-8)
Rice, Kathleen M. (NY-4)
Richmond, Cedric L. (LA-2)
Rose, Max (NY-11)
Rep. Rouda, Harley (CA-48)
Roybal-Allard, Lucille (CA-40)
Ruiz, Raul (CA-36)
Ruppersberger, C. A. Dutch (MD-2)
Rush, Bobby L. (IL-1)
Ryan, Tim (OH-13)
Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho (MP-At Large)
San Nicolas, Michael F. Q. (GU-At Large)
Sanchez, Linda T. (CA-38)
Sarbanes, John P. (MD-3)
Scanlon, Mary Gay (PA-7)
Schakowsky, Janice D. (IL-9)
Schiff, Adam B. (CA-28)
Schneider, Brad (IL-10)
Schrader, Kurt (OR-5)
Scott, David (GA-13)
Scott, Bobby (VA-3)
Serrano, Jose E. (NY-15)
Rep. Sewell, Terri A. (AL-7)
Shalala, Donna E. (FL-27)
Sherman, Brad (CA-30)
Sherrill, Mikie (NJ-11)
Sires, Albio (NJ-8)
Smith, Adam (WA-9)
Soto, Darren (FL-9)
Spanberger, Abigail (VA-7)
Speier, Jackie (CA-14)
Stevens, Haley M. (MI-11)
Suozzi, Thomas R. (NY-3)
Rep. Swalwell, Eric (CA-15)
Takano, Mark (CA-41)
Thompson, Bennie G. (MS-2)
Thompson, Mike (CA-5)
Titus, Dina (NV-1)
Tlaib, Rashida (MI-13)
Tonko, Paul (NY-20)
Torres, Norma J. (CA-35)
Trahan, Lori (MA-3)
Rep. Trone, David J. (MD-6)
Underwood, Lauren (IL-14)
Vargas, Juan (CA-51)
Veasey, Marc A. (TX-33)
Vela, Filemon (TX-34)
Velazquez, Nydia M. (NY-7)
Wasserman Schultz, Debbie (FL-23)
Waters, Maxine (CA-43)
Watson Coleman, Bonnie (NJ-12)
Welch, Peter (VT-At Large)
Wexton, Jennifer (VA-10)
Wild, Susan (PA-15)
Wilson, Frederica S. (FL-24)
Rep. Yarmuth, John A. (KY-3)

SUBSCRIBE To Our Newsletter

About Dana Ash-McGinty 211 Articles
Dana Ash-McGinty is the Principal Broker of ASH | MCGINTY, a Washington, DC Real Estate Brokerage. This real estate maven has 15+ years experience in residential, commercial and land sales in addition to multi-state residential renovation, re-zoning, and condo conversion projects. A sought after real estate authority, she has been featured on CNN and in various real estate and financial publications. Dana is married to the highly esteemed Dr. Dana W. McGinty, a Washington, DC based internal medicine physician. They are often referred to as "The Danas".